Three hoodies save the world

Constant moaning and whinging about everything

I’m too stupid to be a real author

About eighteen months ago I decided to write a horror novel. The only reason for this was because I’d never done it before. It’s called Kongomato and is to the right of this blog. The reason it has such an odd/boring name is because the monster is supposedly real and the names with which it’s known all over Africa vary greatly. The one I chose the only one which possessed even the slightest mystery.

I enjoyed it. Lots of blood and profanity which was a real departure from everything I’d thus far written. And when it finally came to the end in a very enjoyable (for me) splatter-fest, I was happy.

That was where the experiment ended. The monsters were dead, although I did leave a little snippet of a cliffhanger, but only because that was the norm in a lot of old B movies. Right, back to my one true love: SF.

The problem was – not that I’m complaining – that it sold moderately well and that’s when I began receiving requests for the sequel.

Except there couldn’t be a sequel because everyone was dead – probably, because I’d never even considered a sequel.

Regardless, I forged on and it wasn’t until I got half way through the second, using a minor character from the first as the main hero, when I realised that it couldn’t be done. First, it would be pointless, and second, it would cheat the reader.

So how could I resurrect the old character – who was dead?

Now it’s finished and I’m on the third edit but it’s driving me bonkers trying to undo what I did in the first book without cheating. And the reason I can’t stop now is because number three, an obvious extension of the second, is half done.

Thus the lesson for today, if only to me, as most other writers would actually stop and take this into account before they began is: don’t burn your bridges. Or in my case, destroy your monsters and actually kill off your hero.

I think I’ve managed it, though I suspect that my usual 10/12 edits are not going to be nearly enough this time.

And if nothing else, my prospective cover will have to go; it’s about as frightening as a slightly miffed hamster.

Spawn5

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “I’m too stupid to be a real author

  1. Lol! I killed off a family in the first book I wish I’d left. I used to be very bloodthirsty. Now I don’t want to kill anyone…

  2. There has to be danger and mayhem just a little bit, right??? It’s the spice that gets us ticking the Kindle forward… that and romance or adventure… ah heck, for me, anything gets me reading. I love, love to read. I just don’t get to do it enough! Lots of love and LUCK! Emily

Leave a Reply

Proof Perfectly

Editing - Copywriting - Advice

Robbie's inspiration

Ideas on writing and baking

The Terrible Turtle Conspiracy

Can webcomics get any weirder?

Mom's Journey To Her First Book

Weekly struggles and lessons of an aspiring novelist

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Doodlewash

Adventures in Watercolor Painting and Sketching, Watercolour Magazine, with Charlie O'Shields

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

ramblingsfromthedarkness.wordpress.com/

Blogging from your phone has never been so...full of typos?

authorsinterviews

My interviews with many authors

The Gloria Sirens

Leap Out of the Deep and Sing

tressiemc

some of us are brave

insatiabletravelerdotcom1.wordpress.com/

World Travel | Award-winning Photography| Inspiration | Tips

The Confluence

A weblog for Democrats in Exile

karenjonesgowen

author, editor, cookie baker

Beyond Victoriana

A Multicultural Perspective on Steampunk

Susartandfood's Blog

A taste of humor about life, art and food

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Through The Wardrobe

Book review blog from a literary commuter

