Three Hoodies Save the World

Constant moaning and whinging about everything

Complex excuses from Amazon

After changing my royalties payment procedure with Amazon I received a massive payment from Amazon UK (I wish), about four days later. I then wrote a polite letter to Amazon US enquiring when I might be paid by them. The next day I received this:

Hello,

I see that you have changed your payment method and currency from Check in USD
to EFT in GBP in Amazon.com.

When updates are made to your payment details, they will only apply to royalties
collected after the change has been made.

As you currently have royalty earnings that are under the payment threshold, we
have requested a one-time exception to pay these royalties according to the
current currency and payment method selected i.e. EFT in GBP. This process may
take up to 15 business days as it involves complex process and approvals
(currency conversion).

You can expect this payment to be paid out to your bank account in the last week
of January, 2014.

I hope this helps. Thanks for using Amazon KDP.

What kind of financial genius does it require to check the computer for my total sales, deduct their cut and that of the IRS then send me a transfer minus their banker’s fee?

It wouldn’t be because they’re all partying on the fat profit they’re making from us and don’t have anybody sober enough at this time of year to devote the almost five minutes required to calculate the pitiful amount they owe me. For everybody else owed money by Amazon, I wish you luck.

Next year I’m actually going to begin the process of telling the world that I exist and perhaps selling some of the books I’ve spent so long writing.

And to everybody, have a happy and prosperous new year.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Complex excuses from Amazon

  1. I still await royalties from Amazon, myself. So, I relate to how Amazon can be.

  2. I’d have to make sales to get royalties :p Okay, I’ve sold a whopping 11 books this month between all six or eight or whatever titles… sad.

    • I just got my royalties from Amazon US. They kept so much back for transfer fees, IRS and everything else, it was less than £10 pounds.
      No Porsche this week.

Leave a Reply

Proof Perfectly

Editing - Copywriting - Advice

Robbie's inspiration

Ideas on writing and baking

The Terrible Turtle Conspiracy

Can webcomics get any weirder?

Mom's Journey To Her First Book

Weekly struggles and lessons of an aspiring novelist

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Doodlewash®

Adventures in Watercolor Painting and Sketching, Watercolour Magazine, with Charlie O'Shields

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

ramblingsfromthedarkness.wordpress.com/

Blogging from your phone has never been so...full of typos?

authorsinterviews

My interviews with many authors

The Gloria Sirens

Leap Out of the Deep and Sing

tressiemc

some of us are brave

The Insatiable Traveler

Embrace Adventure. World Travel | Award-winning Photography| Inspiration | Tips

The Confluence

A weblog for Democrats in Exile

karenjonesgowen

author, editor, cookie baker

Beyond Victoriana

A Multicultural Perspective on Steampunk

Susartandfood's Blog

A taste of humor about life, art and food

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Through The Wardrobe

Book review blog from a literary commuter

