Three hoodies save the world

Constant moaning and whinging about everything

Finally got past “that” point.

I just achieved 201 pages on my new novel, Progeny of Kongomato (working title). That specific number is always important to me because it means that I’ve left the area of novella and entered into book territory. Not that I ever intended it to be a novel but until that point I always fear that I may run out of ideas or things to do.

It happened to me a couple of months ago in another novel I began. Without disclosing the plot, which I think is original, I realised that I would have to follow my anti-hero through several lifetimes of adventures for the book to work, but I can’t do that again as I just did it in Book of Pain, my last novel. Thus it’s gone into my “Other Stuff” folder for the day when I write my four related novella series – whenever that will be.

Here’s a little snippet from Kongomato 3 where my hero’s love interest is introduced for the first time in this book.

‘John. Where the hell have you been?’ A flurry of kisses enveloped him, much to the amusement and confusion of several other staff and one clearly envious man being pushed past on a trolley; the absence of a leg clearly forgotten as he stared in awe at the man lucky enough to be on the receiving end of such attention from this beautiful woman.

‘You know where I’ve been,’ he panted as those full lips attempted to kiss every portion of his face simultaneously.

‘I know where your body has been,’ she pouted in mock severity, ‘but where has your head been. I thought you were going to lie like a zombie forever. Now, are you well, or at least better?’ Those gorgeous blue eyes scanned his face again for any indication that he might be slipping back into coma, or even that he was not entirely recovered.

‘I’m fine, I promise.’ Finally, unwillingly, he shook her free. He didn’t want her to stop pawing him but there were things he had to find out. The first was…

‘Then for God’s sake get me the hell out of here!’

His surprise must have been apparent for with a smile towards an elderly man accompanied by two armed and frowning soldiers she guided him towards the enticing smell of coffee and altered the timbre of her voice to an impersonal and business-like tone of curt efficiency. After pointing him in the direction of a table in a large and well populated but strangely muted cafeteria she returned quickly with two steaming cups.

‘What the hell is going on?’ She demanded in a quiet but imperative tone. All he could see over the top of her mug were those haunting eyes staring at only one person.

‘Do you want to narrow the parameters of the question a little.’ He used a gently mocking voice but in truth he had no idea what to say other than the obvious. London had been invaded by supposedly mythical flying lizards capable of changing sex at will and killing their prey simply by looking at them. Hundreds, no thousands of people had already died and many others had fled the city and now the surrounding countries were on the verge of…

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Finally got past “that” point.

  1. Congrats on getting past the point of novella! I liked this part from the excerpt: “‘I know where your body has been,’ she pouted in mock severity, ‘but where has your head been…” >> Yes, you penned that so well. Our mental presence does not always follow with our physical one.

Leave a Reply

Proof Perfectly

Editing - Copywriting - Advice

Robbie's inspiration

Ideas on writing and baking

The Terrible Turtle Conspiracy

Can webcomics get any weirder?

Mom's Journey To Her First Book

Weekly struggles and lessons of an aspiring novelist

The Task at Hand

A Writer's On-Going Search for Just the Right Words

Doodlewash

Adventures in Watercolor Painting and Sketching, Watercolour Magazine, with Charlie O'Shields

Nicholas C. Rossis

Award-winning, dream-protecting author

ramblingsfromthedarkness.wordpress.com/

Blogging from your phone has never been so...full of typos?

authorsinterviews

My interviews with many authors

The Gloria Sirens

Leap Out of the Deep and Sing

tressiemc

some of us are brave

The Insatiable Traveler

World Travel | Award-winning Photography| Inspiration | Tips

The Confluence

A weblog for Democrats in Exile

karenjonesgowen

author, editor, cookie baker

Beyond Victoriana

A Multicultural Perspective on Steampunk

Susartandfood's Blog

A taste of humor about life, art and food

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

Blog & website of children's book author Tara Lazar

Through The Wardrobe

Book review blog from a literary commuter

